Changing Dynamics in Social Media Usage by Anthony

I find the relationship between social media and one’s personal character, identity, and personality is dynamic and ever changing. The interaction between social media is not stagnant, nor is it permanent. I doubt I will have a twitter, Snapchat, or Facebook account for the rest of my life or perhaps I might, but that speaks to the changing nature of individuals and social media usage.
I find this changing relationship to especially pertinent in my own usage with social media. When doing the audit of social media, I found myself to be leaning extremely to the highly selective of experiences shared end of the spectrum. I hardly find myself posting about my personal experiences and that is not something that had always been the case. For example, when I first got on social media in high school and got comfortable with its usage, I remember I was far more active in sharing the details of my life and what I was doing more on a day to day basis. However, the relationship between social media and my public persona is always changing. As time went on, I found myself less and less active to where I hardly post about anything about my personal experiences. I find this change in my own experience to gradual and natural. I never put too much thought into this changing relationship, for it was nothing but a subtle occurrence. In relating this to how individuals present themselves, I wonder if people’s change in usage is noticed by others and do they look at others who do not use social media as frequently in a different lens. If an individual does not post about their experiences in life, and for this example, it was a good experience. It does not mean that the certain experience did not happen in their lives. I wonder how that is received to others on social media, when their friend or someone they follow tends to not post on social media as much. In the eyes of others, does the experience people do not post about become any less validated? In a rational way of thinking, the answer should clearly be no; however, some might feel this way and view others that do not share about their experiences as less relatable or sociable than others. Overall, even when people change their social media habits, whether it goes unnoticed by others or not, it comes down to individual preferences and their own experiences with social media. In those experiences, people may grow tired or become more intrigued, but I think it is always changing in how individuals perceive their social media.

About psupopa

I like to run.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment